As far as I am concerned this is allowed (with the rules as is) but is using the lettering of the rules to do something that should not have been possible.
This is one of the interpretations that's called "power gaming". Playing the rules as they are written, not as they probably were meant (seeing the historical view they'd like). The problem off course is that we don't really know what was meant, onlt what was written.
The rules state:
- A pursuing unit will will get a charge order on the fleeing unit. (Pursuit, page 79 revised english book).
- A charging unit may make a wheel at the start of each phase (page 63 revised english book). The wording used is to fase the enemy unit, which is open for interpretation.
- Then the charging unit moves strait forwar.
- During the wheel to allign you contact the second unit and stop (page 65 revised english book).
So, doing it like Piotroslav describes is allowed, but I don't think it was intended.
If the wording of the wheel at the start of the charge move would be rephrase so as to maximize final contact with the target, this situation could be prevented.
P.S. No offense meant Piotroslav, it is just a pet peeve of mine to get the rules as historical as possible.