Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
Dzisiaj jest pt lis 16, 2018 3:17 am

Strefa czasowa UTC+1godz. [letni]




Nowy temat Odpowiedz w temacie  [ Posty: 129 ]  Przejdź na stronę Poprzednia  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Następna
Autor Wiadomość
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pt lis 03, 2017 7:22 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: wt lip 11, 2017 10:53 am
Posty: 86
as for the first, to clarify my example:
time is not phase. phase would be: defensive fire phase, or shooting while charging phase.
my example would be:
in the defensive fire phase, three units shoot at a small company. three hits, three zeros. is that now four wounds or six, given the restriction in the rule?
if the shots are fired in three different phases each, e.g. defensive fire phase, shooting while charging, and shooting after movement, then definitely six. question is if the shots are fired in the same phase. but by different units.

so the way I understand your answer, you'd say four in the first case, six in the second case?

as for the second question, countermarch as by rulebook is neither a maneuver nor movement, therefore perfectly possible...question is if this is intended.

_________________
det finns bara krig, och livet är kamp


Ostatnio zmieniony pt lis 03, 2017 8:07 pm przez onkelsheik, łącznie zmieniany 1 raz

Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pt lis 03, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: ndz paź 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posty: 1142
Lokalizacja: Leipzig (Germany)
1. Yes.

2. Shooting with Contermarsh isn't normal shooting.

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pt lis 03, 2017 8:08 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: wt lip 11, 2017 10:53 am
Posty: 86
the wording is "shooting the usual way", written in relation to the second salvo. Which is forbidden, that is obvious, but whether something like countermarch is permitted is not concludable from the rules as written.
Although you might be perfectly right, a clarification would be nice nontheless. For both questions, as we had quite a few discussions for both before.

_________________
det finns bara krig, och livet är kamp


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pt lis 03, 2017 11:43 pm 
Offline
Pocztowy/Retainer
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: czw maja 29, 2014 11:33 pm
Posty: 238
Agreed that the wording can be ambiguous, but the rule is that only regular shooting is allowed after a Salvo. Regular shooting is understood to be shooting with no special rules or abilities.
Countermarch is a special ability which combines some movement and some shooting (like Caracole does for cavalry).

So if your questions is "what's the correct way to play?" then the answer is no countermarch after a salvo.

_________________
BiteSized Bat Reps Channel
iconSWE - Skirmish and Division Level
iconRON - Skirmish


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: ndz lis 05, 2017 2:30 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: wt lip 11, 2017 10:53 am
Posty: 86
thanks.

still waiting for a clarification of the small companies; we had quite a bit discussion on this, so to know whether this effect can occur several times per shooting phase or only once would be helpful.

an additional question arose during the weekend: If you uncover your charge order, and your intended target is behind a river now (swimming rule); which rule applies?
a) targets behind "obstacles" may be ignored. While the rulebook names "ditches" as obstacles, it does not name rivers, and while semantics would imply that a river can be an obstacle, the use in the rulebook is usually more narrowed down
b) as the target is in line of sight, it must still be charged until the river is reached. after that, the skill check rule applies, as would be in the regular "out of reach but in in LoS" case
c) the target is treated as out of LoS (as it is obviously unreachable by river now, not by range), and the charge is transformed to a movement order, as per rulebook in the LoS case.

the issue is that if b) would applied, the unit is effectively removed from the game, as turing around, wheeling, and moving wherever takes more rounds as the game is going; unless you play elite cav, as so often.
I would think applying c) would be more logical (always assuming there is no other unit in LoS on the own side of the bank), but this is not rules as written as of now.

so the question in brief: do I still have to charge to a river bank although I have obviously no chance whatsoever to reach the enemy on the other side? I doubt this would be historical or logical, and it has a major impact on the gameplay.

thanks, appreciated

_________________
det finns bara krig, och livet är kamp


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pn lis 06, 2017 10:01 am 
Offline
Namiestnik

Rejestracja: pn maja 14, 2012 10:35 am
Posty: 1943
Answer in brief, if you cannot make a legal charge moves (ie. you cannot move in straight lines toward target) then you must choose different legal target and if no target is possible then you switch order to Move.

But if charge is legal, but it would take 2+ turns to connect, then you must charge.

_________________
Bób, homar, włoszczyzna

Chcesz sprzedać/kupić od/wymienić figurki z bartomeuszem, to weź pod uwagę, że jest osobą, która wycofuje się z własnych ustaleń i w efekcie z handlu nici.


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pn lis 06, 2017 5:39 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: wt lip 11, 2017 10:53 am
Posty: 86
Thanks for the answer, so it comes down to whether the charge is "legal". It is not possible to reach the target by straight line or narrowing, as the river is in between. yet the distance to the river could be (though pointlessly) covered, taking the unit essentially farther away from the target (in sense of turns), as it would need to turn around and follow the river bank until the bridge, then back on the other side.
so, is it legal or not?

_________________
det finns bara krig, och livet är kamp


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pt lis 24, 2017 6:33 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: wt lip 11, 2017 10:53 am
Posty: 86
still no answer on the river issue.

nontheless, another question: march losses, also for single base units (which then are dead)?
not explicitly excluded, yet I would think this is silly.

_________________
det finns bara krig, och livet är kamp


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: pn lis 27, 2017 7:15 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: śr sie 06, 2014 2:27 pm
Posty: 230
Lokalizacja: Oslo, Norway
onkelsheik pisze:
Thanks for the answer, so it comes down to whether the charge is "legal". It is not possible to reach the target by straight line or narrowing, as the river is in between. yet the distance to the river could be (though pointlessly) covered, taking the unit essentially farther away from the target (in sense of turns), as it would need to turn around and follow the river bank until the bridge, then back on the other side.
so, is it legal or not?


That is not a straight line, so is not a legal charge. But this doesn't matter, as units across a river is not a required target: [...]when declaring the target of a Charge you may ignore [...] any enemy Unit that cannot be reached with a Basic Move due to terrain, required maneuvers, etc.


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
 Tytuł: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
Post: wt lis 28, 2017 2:51 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
Awatar użytkownika

Rejestracja: wt lip 11, 2017 10:53 am
Posty: 86
Thanks for the clarification.
It is a straight line, at least until it reaches the river :). But the way I understand it, and as I suspected, in this case you would not need to take the charge.

_________________
det finns bara krig, och livet är kamp


Na górę
 Wyświetl profil  
Odpowiedz z cytatem  
Wyświetl posty nie starsze niż:  Sortuj wg  
Nowy temat Odpowiedz w temacie  [ Posty: 129 ]  Przejdź na stronę Poprzednia  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Następna

Strefa czasowa UTC+1godz. [letni]


Kto jest online

Użytkownicy przeglądający to forum: Obecnie na forum nie ma żadnego zarejestrowanego użytkownika i 3 gości


Nie możesz tworzyć nowych tematów
Nie możesz odpowiadać w tematach
Nie możesz zmieniać swoich postów
Nie możesz usuwać swoich postów
Nie możesz dodawać załączników

Szukaj:
Przejdź do:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group