Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:46 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: More than 2 manuevers
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 9:38 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:23 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Copenhagen
Hi
Was reading the new small rule book and under maneuvers I found the Reforming (only S-M) section on page 29 it states that if the unit does more than 2 maneuvers it cannot shoot

This part

"After a reform the Unit may not shoot, nor perform
other Special Maneuvers in the same turn (e.g. when
special rules allow it to perform more than 2 Special
Maneuvers per turn) and is treated as if it had no
Order until the end of the turn (may fight from behind
wagons only when they are empty, polearms used by
such Unit don't negate cavalry impetus etc.)."

But in the skirmish list of the Swedes it states that

"The Swedish army was famous for its discipline and ability to maneuver on the
battlefield.
All Units in the Regiment/Skirmish Force (excluding artillery) can perform one additional
Special Maneuver when given a Defense order. This Maneuver is free so in total they can
perform 2 Special Maneuvers and shoot."

Now seems they contradict each other, having read a little on the period the first option sound right ie that it cannot shoot after having perhaps completely rearranged its facing etc. I read it as the swedish can do lots of things but not that!

Which is correct no shooting or with the special rule it can shoot?

Thanks
William


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: More than 2 manuevers
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 10:04 am 
Offline
Pachołek/Camp servant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:56 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
Hi William,

The special rule "Military Drill" gives a unit one more meneuver than normal (3 instead of 2), as you mentioned.
See this as the number you could perform.

Reform will use 2 maneuvers. After that special maneuver you can't do anything else, including shooting.
So, yes, it basically uses all remaining meneuvers and at least 2.
But read the the rule. The keyword here is "After".
So, a unit with a Military Drill could use the Change of position maneuver (move 2 cm) and then do the Reforming.

Cheers,
Zagin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: More than 2 manuevers
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 10:07 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:23 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Copenhagen
Hi Zagan

So you are saying if the Swedish unit did the Reform it could not shoot even with the special rule which gives it one more manuever?

Thanks
William


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: More than 2 manuevers
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 11:14 am 
Offline
Pachołek/Camp servant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:56 pm
Posts: 329
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
Correct, reform trumps shooting.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group