Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword
http://forum.oim.wargamer.pl/

Offical Answers to Rules Questions
http://forum.oim.wargamer.pl/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=4180
Page 13 of 13

Author:  Psychopath [ Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

Does an artillery count as a destroyed base for victory calculation if it is manned again later in the game?

Author:  BlackLegion [ Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

One thing puzzles me which maybe our group is playing always wrong.
Often the rules states that a base looses 1 die from its attacks. Only in the section about attacks from the side it is mentioned that a Unit can only attack with 1 dies less and if it has only 1 die to begin with it rolls with a -1 Skill modifier.

In any other instances (for example wounded Bases, Disorganized Units, Wagons attacked from the front or rear, etc) this -1 Skill modifier isn't mentioned. Only that the base looses 1 die is mentioned.

So what happens to such bases if they only have 1 die in its attacks and the rule force them to loose 1 die? -1 Skill or no attack at all?


And another thing which happened today:
What if a Unit has a Charge Order but it has two enemy Units which are exactly at the same distance and FoW to it? I had a Unit of Mounted Cossacks where the leftmost Base had an enemy Unit 7,5cm from it and the rightmost Base had another enemy Unit also exactly 7,5cm from it. Size and positioning of the Mounted Cossacks would have allowed to reach base contact with the basic move and still hold coherency.

Author:  callan [ Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

If you remember we had a long argument about this last xmas, some of which was lost due to a hard disk failure on the forum. I tried summarizing all the various methods of calculation in the playtesters' forum, but I don't think I got them all. Hopefully this will be streamlined and more consistent in the mini rulebook.

Author:  BlackLegion [ Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

I also hope it will be streamlined.

Author:  onkelsheik [ Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

commanders cannot enter houses nor can they join units in houses (as they cannot come into contact), but can units with joined commanders enter houses?

Author:  onkelsheik [ Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

The new small companies rule, that single losses to not affect the die reduction for shooting and close combat, is it only valid for the reduction due to the allocated initial damage, or is this valid for all single wounds throughout the entire game?

Author:  wiggraves [ Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:41 am ]
Post subject:  Two Questions

1) I remember reading some time ago that Recruits (Skill 3) had to test to charge... Now I can't find it. Did I imagine it?
2) Does a Caracole suffer a -1 for Shooting after Movement? 1st Rank? 2nd/3rd Ranks?

Thanks!

Author:  robson [ Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

2) AFAIK: In the small rulebook there is a description of carracole that says that the subsequent shooting does not suffer from movement penalty.

Author:  BlackLegion [ Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions

1. No. Only units with the Militia rule have to test if the target is more numerous.


2. As they have a Defence Order they don't suffer the -1 penalty for shooting in Shooting after Movement Phase.

Page 13 of 13 All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/