Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Sat Dec 14, 2019 2:02 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 13  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:55 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:33 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Sitting on top of a pile of lead...
The way I understand it, an elite cavalry unit will always move as if in open order, UNLESS it choses to move in close order (meaning it needs to choose close order as it is assumed to be in open order at all times during movement), regardless of the movement phase it is moving in. So the -1 to hit modifier always applies unless choosing to move in close order. The same applies to the impetus modifier, it is +1 unless choosing to move in close order. On the table the bases are always placed in contact with each other in a close order formation even when moving in open order.

As for when is close combat is initiated I would say that it is upon base to base contact with an enemy unit.

_________________
I see lead people...

Bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:29 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:09 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Hannover / Germany
@Iluzagin: Okay. I did't see this sentence. Then i guess the -1 doesn't count for reaction fire (if the unit get in contact), only for defensive fire. But on the whole my question is answered. only -1, if charging in "open order".


What's about my second question?

2)
Impetus and companion special rule:
During a charge two bases of an unit get an impetus bonus and one base not (or vice versa). Get the additional die from the companion special rule the impetus bonus or not?
2a) What's about the additional die of a joined commander?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:53 pm 
Offline
Pachołek/Camp servant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:56 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Delft, The Netherlands
@Bill,
As I read the rules, it does not matter how you moved. When you shoot at a unit you look at how the unit is at that time. That means that elite cavalry are in close order, and won't get the open order -1. Except for the special case during charging. So, even though elite cavalry can move as if open order, it will not be in open order when shot at.
When shooting it does not state that you have to take into account what the target unit was doing, only what its current state is (makes the game easier, I guess).

But, this is, in the end, interpreting it.

The moment where the -1, for open order during the charge, ends is open for debate. The rules state at the start of combat, but what phase/stage/step is ment by it? The wording is not precise in this one.

@Boomer,
As I see it, the unit gets impetus, so the additional dice for companion rolls the for same value as the other dice.
Also, when adding a commander to a unit, the unit gets another dice. So again it'll get all the modifiers that the unit gets.

Ergo, the modifiers to the unit are, as I see it, also applied to all additional dice that the unit gets.

My 2 cents,
Cheers,
Zagin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:53 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1158
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
I re-read the section about Elite Cavalry. And yes the -1 for shooting is only if the Elite Cavalry has a Charge Order and doesn't move as if in Close Order. Interesting.

And for question 2.: As i stated the whole Unit gets the Impetus bonus if it applies. The additional die for Companion and/or Commander will get this bonus too (it's part of the Unit).
But it's a bit tricky if you have for example: 2 bases attacking. One base attacks over an Obstacle, the other doesn't. The base attacking over the Obstacle gets a -1 or -2 Skill modifier (depending if Infantry or Cavalry), the other base doesn't. So what happens with the additional die for Companion/Commander?

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:40 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:36 pm
Posts: 337
Location: Virginia, USA
BlackLegion wrote:
I re-read the section about Elite Cavalry. And yes the -1 for shooting is only if the Elite Cavalry has a Charge Order and doesn't move as if in Close Order. Interesting.

And for question 2.: As i stated the whole Unit gets the Impetus bonus if it applies. The additional die for Companion and/or Commander will get this bonus too (it's part of the Unit).
But it's a bit tricky if you have for example: 2 bases attacking. One base attacks over an Obstacle, the other doesn't. The base attacking over the Obstacle gets a -1 or -2 Skill modifier (depending if Infantry or Cavalry), the other base doesn't. So what happens with the additional die for Companion/Commander?


Apply it to the better Skill stand. Nothing says you have to do otherwise. It is a "free" die.

_________________
Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake.

http://knightrecoil.blogspot.com
http://peasantpartisan.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:09 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Hannover / Germany
In what moment I have to decide whether to create a Squadron ?

Before I begin with the set up of the units, or during the setup?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:39 pm 
Offline
Sekretarz królewski/Royal secretary

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:55 am
Posts: 4582
During the setup


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 2:57 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 2:09 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Hannover / Germany
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:25 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1158
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
In the scenario Night Attack the weaker player isn't allowed to from squadrons. Does this rule supersede the forced squadroning of Transylvanian Cavalry or single base Reiter Companies?

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Offical Answers to Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 2:32 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:36 pm
Posts: 337
Location: Virginia, USA
It would appear so. The rule clarification on the Transylvanians states "where possible". Since the scenario forbids squadrons, it is no longer "possible".

_________________
Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake.

http://knightrecoil.blogspot.com
http://peasantpartisan.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 13  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group