Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:29 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:27 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:18 pm
Posts: 25
Hr guys,

I'm learning BFaS now. In example of a 1st Combat Resolution a Unit ist fleeing thewinning Unit have to pursiut. This count as as a new charge, correct? (without modifiers, shooting By charging etc)

The rule on a charge i.e. I may ignorie fleeing Units. Or do i have to charge it?

The Problem is, if The fleeing Unit moves to far, i will lose Order with The result i have to pass a Moraltest. (Failed charge)
In case of a 2nd close Combat i lose The charge Order too, but i dont have to pass a moraltest.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:38 pm 
Offline
Pocztowy/Retainer
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 11:33 pm
Posts: 210
You have to pursue unless a commander in 20cm spends a command point to restrain..

If you don't catch the fleeing enemy in pursuit, you don't suffer any penalties and don't have to pass any tests. your unit advances it's pursuit distance and then stops with no orders.

As an aside, if you fail the initial charge, you test vs. skill not morale.

_________________
BiteSized Bat Reps Channel
iconSWE - Skirmish and Division Level
iconRON - Skirmish


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:53 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:18 pm
Posts: 25
Ah okay thx. Right pass a skilltest.

Another xample frome our Last Game yesterday. After 1 St. Combat the Loosing Unit was fleeing (infantry).

In Field of view a Second Enemy Unit was only 3 cm away. In the Same case of an pursiut can i ignore the fleeing Unit or Must Spend 1 command point to take a new Target. (In our case i had the Chance to attack from flank

Ps: i enjoid your Videos on youtube :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 11:18 pm 
Offline
Pocztowy/Retainer
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 11:33 pm
Posts: 210
Maniac-Eye wrote:
can i ignore the fleeing Unit or Must Spend 1 command point to take a new Target. (In our case i had the Chance to attack from flank

From the rule book, the pursuit is a special charge that must target the losing enemy unit. So AFAIK you may not change the target, even by spending a command point. The only option you have is to refrain (by spending command) or pursue the losing unit.
And there are some special cases where you can auto-refrain from pursuing, like when defending in advantage granting terrain.
The idea is that the fleeing unit doesn't flee while you wait, creating space for you to charge someone else. You're pursuing them as they're fleeing..

Maniac-Eye wrote:
Ps: i enjoid your Videos on youtube :D
Thanks!

_________________
BiteSized Bat Reps Channel
iconSWE - Skirmish and Division Level
iconRON - Skirmish


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:05 pm 
Offline
Namiestnik

Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:35 am
Posts: 1779
You can try some manouvering to make an incidential contact with another enemy unit during that pursuit.
By manouvering I mean making a turn at the start of pursuit.

_________________
Bób, homar, włoszczyzna

Chcesz sprzedać/kupić od/wymienić figurki z bartomeuszem, to weź pod uwagę, że jest osobą, która wycofuje się z własnych ustaleń i w efekcie z handlu nici.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:38 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:18 pm
Posts: 25
Ok one Wheel before charging can make sure, but the wheel must in direction of the front of the target unit. So i dont think that this works in such a situation. or i'm wrong? Particularly the unit which lost the 1st combat is fleeing opposed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:25 pm 
Offline
Namiestnik

Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:35 am
Posts: 1779
It depends on actual positioning of units.
Look at example of how it would be possible.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Bób, homar, włoszczyzna

Chcesz sprzedać/kupić od/wymienić figurki z bartomeuszem, to weź pod uwagę, że jest osobą, która wycofuje się z własnych ustaleń i w efekcie z handlu nici.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:09 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 984
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
Actually in this drawing the pursuing unit C has to wheel away from unit B in order to hit unit A which is not allowed.

But in the second drawing if unit C was fighting Unit A and A has to withdraw, then Unit C would have to wheel to the left for pursuit and doing so would hit unit B.

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:52 pm 
Offline
Pachołek/Camp servant

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 9:33 pm
Posts: 74
BlackLegion wrote:
Actually in this drawing the pursuing unit C has to wheel away from unit B in order to hit unit A which is not allowed.


It is allowed, after wheel some part of C unit is still targeting B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Pursiut After 1st Close Combat a Fleeing Unit
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:39 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 984
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
1Przemo1 wrote:
BlackLegion wrote:
Actually in this drawing the pursuing unit C has to wheel away from unit B in order to hit unit A which is not allowed.


It is allowed, after wheel some part of C unit is still targeting B.


But B is moving straight away from C. So how can C wheeling even more into the direction of B?

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group