Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:01 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

Post subject: Expansion of the basic Polish Skirmish set
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:43 pm 
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

I am new to this game and have played one brief 5 minute demo round and about an hour of a trial game. I have the basic Polish Skirmish set with 1 unit of Pancerni, 1 unit of Wallachians, and 2 units of Cossacks. Is there a list available to increase the FSP of THIS PARTICULAR LIST or do I need to go to a different list to up grade this force.

Other than exchanging units for dragoons what is the best way to add infantry to the Polish forces? Is the addition of Mercenaries a good option versus Polish infantry? Jerry

Post subject: Re: Expansion of the basic Polish Skirmish set
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:17 pm 
Sekretarz królewski/Royal secretary

it's just a Polish Skirmish 1667-72 list with banner of cossack style cavalry exchanged to Wallachians

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:30 pm 
Namiestnik

If you want to play infantry based forces them maybe you've picked wrong army - Cossacks or Muscovites would be a better choice. But if you want PLC infantry based skirmish force, you can choice between Słuck ("Armies of BFaS), or city defence (pdf from WG website).

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:46 pm 

I want to add infantry to my Polish Cavalry.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:04 am 
Namiestnik

No way, I'm affraid. Both Słuck and city defence have an option to use cavalry in limited quantities, but polish skirmish forces are basically cavalry forces with little dragoons option. One of Lithuanian skirmishes has an option to field larger quantities of dragoons (Obuchowicz in "Armies..."), rest of his forces are cossacks style cavalry. If you're looking for mixed cavalry-infantry forces, try Sweden od other western armies, alternatively Muscovites.