Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:50 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:06 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:49 am
Posts: 18
Attacking a Polish-held crossing:

http://mauricegames.blogspot.com/2017/1 ... olish.html


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:53 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1059
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
Nice report thank you. :)

Yes you did miscalculate the Reconnaissance Points. It should be 22 for PLC an 20 for Muscovites. Also you can't split a Banner to form a Squadron with 2 other Banners.

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 2:08 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 1:40 pm
Posts: 199
Location: Coventry
Great report, thanks!!!

_________________
iconRON iconSWE iconTAT iconKOZ


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 3:32 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:49 am
Posts: 18
BlackLegion wrote:
Nice report thank you. :)

Yes you did miscalculate the Reconnaissance Points. It should be 22 for PLC an 20 for Muscovites. Also you can't split a Banner to form a Squadron with 2 other Banners.


Thanks, once I saw how close it was on rp I didn't really double check.

I don't think we split any banners...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1059
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
Well the end difference of RP is the same anyway :-)

AFAIK you used 3 banners of Dragoons with 2 bases each. But on the battlefield you had two units /squadrons of 3 bases each. This is not allowed. You should had either one big squadron of 6 bases or one squadron of 4 bases and another of 2 bases or 3 units of 2 bases each.

But anyway it don't see how it would have made a difference in your game :-)

And nice painting too. Keep it up :-(

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:18 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:49 am
Posts: 18
Ah, the FSP 10 dragoon bases were extra stands filling out the prior 2 units, not a separate banner.

Ty for the compliment on my painting!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:23 pm 
Offline
Komisarz królewski/Royal commissar
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 5:51 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: die Stadt Breslau, PL
Maurice wrote:
I declared a charge with my pancerni, hoping to retain the order into next turn and hit the Muscovites on my terms.
Image
Mmm, sorry, but I totally have no idea how did you want to make it. You declared a charge on the enemy unit placed on the opposite bank and...?
You had to stop your charging move of pancerni on the bank and than - all that what the enemy needed was waiting with appearing on your side of the river, until your unit will fail this charge. Even if Muscovite reiters would be standing in the middle of the ford, you couldn't do anything but standing on this bank (in the place where yellow arrow is starting), because you can charge only in the straight line into target. So you had to wait until reiters would appear on your bank in such way which would allow all of your unit turn left and charge them by all of unit's bases.
Or maybe I didn't catch something?

Sorry for being too honest, Maurice :P

Nice table and - after all ;) - good to read your stories.

I hope your next games will go better!

_________________
Ja tu tylko sprzątam.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:35 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:49 am
Posts: 18
Witold Janik wrote:
Maurice wrote:
I declared a charge with my pancerni, hoping to retain the order into next turn and hit the Muscovites on my terms.
Image
Mmm, sorry, but I totally have no idea how did you want to make it. You declared a charge on the enemy unit placed on the opposite bank and...?
You had to stop your charging move of pancerni on the bank and than - all that what the enemy needed was waiting with appearing on your side of the river, until your unit will fail this charge. Even if Muscovite reiters would be standing in the middle of the ford, you couldn't do anything but standing on this bank (in the place where yellow arrow is starting), because you can charge only in the straight line into target. So you had to wait until reiters would appear on your bank in such way which would allow all of your unit turn left and charge them by all of unit's bases.
Or maybe I didn't catch something?

Sorry for being too honest, Maurice :P

Nice table and - after all ;) - good to read your stories.

I hope your next games will go better!


No, you're absolutely right!! I'm still new to this, and need to tighten up in a lot of places (and my opponent has played less than me in this case).

I didn't even think about having to charge in a straight line :blush:

There were a lot of issues with my plan :D

I need to look at the bridge-charges section, as I'm not sure if we did that right at the end either. I know there is a bit more flexibility about moving off a bridge to charge someone, but we probably did one or both sides of that counter charge wrong.

Thanks!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:41 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 2:27 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Oslo, Norway
Maurice wrote:
I need to look at the bridge-charges section, as I'm not sure if we did that right at the end either. I know there is a bit more flexibility about moving off a bridge to charge someone, but we probably did one or both sides of that counter charge wrong.


There was a long discussion earlier whether charging over bridges was allowed in most circumstances as the rules are rather unclear. I suggest you take a look at the Player's Rulebook preview PDF which were supposed to clarify this issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Muscovite PLC battle report!
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 8:35 pm 
Offline
Komisarz królewski/Royal commissar
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 5:51 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: die Stadt Breslau, PL
callan wrote:
Maurice wrote:
I need to look at the bridge-charges section, as I'm not sure if we did that right at the end either. I know there is a bit more flexibility about moving off a bridge to charge someone, but we probably did one or both sides of that counter charge wrong.


There was a long discussion earlier whether charging over bridges was allowed in most circumstances as the rules are rather unclear. I suggest you take a look at the Player's Rulebook preview PDF which were supposed to clarify this issue.
@callan - Yup! And it will be even more easy now in the final version, we've just cut off some rules 2 days ago, so only 1 picture of example will stay.

_________________
Ja tu tylko sprzątam.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group