Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:51 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:08 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 11:16 am
Posts: 1
Gents
Within the skirmish force box are six bases of mtd. and six bases if ft.
My guess is that you field them as mtd. to start and get them to where you want them and dismount.However from what I can see you can field them either mtd or dismounted so can you get more from the box and have more units by fielding some mtd and some on foot?
I can't see why not but would appreciate a more experienced point of view to help my planning
Much obliged
Kev


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:31 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:53 pm
Posts: 204
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Servant cossacks (like some other units) have the Dragoon special rule. Which means they are mounted infantry, and would usually operate mounted, and dismount when needed. The rules how and when they can dismount are clear enough (i.e. Dragoon special rule, page 106). However, this sort of assumes that they start the game mounted. I don't think that there are any rules anywhere that explain how they can start the game dismounted, but I may have missed something.

However, I think it should be possible for them to start dismounted. But I would say (and all this is just IMHO) it would largely depend on the scenario and the situation. For example, if they are defending the village in the 'Attack on a village' scenario. Or if they are placed in an Ambush (according to the special rule on page 387). But if they are themselves defending in the 'Ambush' scenario? Maybe not, to reflect the disorder and lack of preparation. The same could be the case for the 'Patrol' scenario, but you could also argue that there would have been enough time for them to dismount. So it probably depends on what you (and your opponent) think is reasonable/acceptable. You could even go so far as to make a Skill check for each unit that wants to start dismounted, just allow it, or always disallow it, all depending on the situation.

Ofcourse, fielding both the mounted and dismounted units at the same time will give you less options. You can't dismount unless you have the appropriate models, so that could be a disadvantage. If (due to the scenario?) you can't dismount all units, it could even mean that you can't field all your units, as you won't have all the models that you need. And then what? Leave them out of the battle? Treat them as 'unexpected reinforcements'? Just assume (state) that they are mounted as well, and turn a blind eye? All possible, but depends on your play style and preference.

Alex


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 9:16 pm 
Offline
Towarzysz/Companion
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:06 pm
Posts: 2097
Hey,

Servant cossack are dragoons, that's why you can both place and/or play them mounted or not. That's your choice. But you must remember, that:
1) When they are mounted, they fight worse than normal
2) When they are dismounted, one base must remain mounted - it symbolises soldiers, that stay with horses. If all bases are dismounted, you can't mount the unit again.

Konrad

_________________
На нас глядят в бинокли, в трубы сотни глаз
И видят нас от дыма злых и серых,
Но никогда им не увидеть нас
Прикованными к веслам на галерах!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:16 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 7:18 pm
Posts: 544
Good reminder, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2015 6:17 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1033
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
Are Servant Cossacks only in Open Order when dismounted?

And in the Zasieczna Guard: Can you exchange only one or both Servant Cossack Sotnias for Border Dragoons?

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2015 9:05 am 
Offline
Sekretarz królewski/Royal secretary

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:55 am
Posts: 4043
1. Yes.
2. Only one


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2015 11:49 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1033
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
I thought so :) Thank you :)

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:53 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 8:04 am
Posts: 5
I have also a question about the Servant Cossacks: Does the blister with Servant Cossacks (MOS-11) really contain 9 mounted and dismounted models or 18 like shown in the picture? I ask, because I can't imagine that 9 models would cost 18€...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:57 am 
Offline
Fältherren
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 11:21 pm
Posts: 10332
Location: Edinburgh
It's 9 mounted + 9 dismounted. We need to change this photo, it's confusing indeed :)

_________________
http://kadrinazi.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Servant Cossacks
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2015 4:46 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 35
So nothing wrong with these guys but they are really not very good.. It seems that they would be a bit better fighting mounted but because they are dragoons they are at -1SK , right ?

So really they are only good to defend villages or so, right ?

thanks

Francisco


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group