Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:32 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:13 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:03 am
Posts: 503
Location: Stafford, UK
I usually have two bases of Plastuny Scouts in my Cossack skirmish force and they have the Ambush or Flank March special rule.

I usually write down whether they are in Ambush or on a Flank March and show it to my opponent when I reveal the Ambush or the Flank March.

It was suggested to me by one of my opponents at the tournament in Warsaw that I should have told him about the Ambush or Flank March at the beginning of the game.

Which way do you think is right?

_________________
Regards,
Roland
http://www.firepowergames.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:23 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:47 pm
Posts: 435
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
I would treat it as a chosen "Reconnaissance Effect", although in this case you don't have to have an advantage in points. As Reconnaissance Effects are shared when choosing them, I would say, make this clear to the opponent as well before the battle starts.

Or you can put it on the Army List and show the list, which is basically the same at that point (unless your opponent doesn't pay attention). X|

It wouldn't be to big of a problem when an opponents hides it, till the point the Ambush/Flanking Manouveur comes to effect, as in real life you would be surprised as well (if the enemy knows what it is doing - freaking Tatars...). 8-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 5:37 pm 
Offline
Namiestnik

Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:35 am
Posts: 1956
Well, when you use flanking manouver you need to declare since which turn unit will start rolling for entering the table. If you didn't I would assume they just use the Ambush rule.
However, it must be clear to the other player you have them.

_________________
Bób, homar, włoszczyzna

Chcesz sprzedać/kupić od/wymienić figurki z bartomeuszem, to weź pod uwagę, że jest osobą, która wycofuje się z własnych ustaleń i w efekcie z handlu nici.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:06 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1142
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
I thought if you decide to put the Plastuny on the table only then you decide if it will be as Flanking March or as Ambush?

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:09 am 
Offline
Namiestnik

Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:35 am
Posts: 1956
If you put them on the table during deployment, then they do not use any extra rule at all.
If you don't, they are either in Flanking Manouver or in Ambush.
If they are doing Flanking Manouver you must declare from which turn you will start rolling for them to arrive.
So, I guess, if you won't state that they are simply using Ambush.

_________________
Bób, homar, włoszczyzna

Chcesz sprzedać/kupić od/wymienić figurki z bartomeuszem, to weź pod uwagę, że jest osobą, która wycofuje się z własnych ustaleń i w efekcie z handlu nici.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:58 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 1142
Location: Leipzig (Germany)
Yes it seems so :) Ok I almost always use them for Ambush :D

_________________
Uczę się języka polskiego. Jeśli piszę coś źle, proszę mnie poprawić. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:18 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower

Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:03 am
Posts: 503
Location: Stafford, UK
BlackLegion wrote:
Yes it seems so :) Ok I almost always use them for Ambush :D


In my game against you I put my Scouts in Ambush but was not able to bring them on your side of the river because of the deployment rules but if I had used the Flank March instead I could have brought them on but at deployment I had written Ambush next to my Scouts so couldn't use the Flank March.

If I show my army list to my opponent then I have never felt the need to say to him 'by the way my Plastuny Scouts are on a Flank March and I am going to start rolling to bring them on from Turn 2' or 'don't forget my Scouts are in Ambush' it kind of defeats the object of an Ambush!

_________________
Regards,
Roland
http://www.firepowergames.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Plastuny Scouts
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:25 pm 
Offline
Namiestnik

Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:35 am
Posts: 1956
Flank March rule clearly states you need to mark the turn when you will start rolling for them to enter.
If you do not do that but you showed your army list with Plastuny there is no obligation to remind opponent you have them in ambush.

_________________
Bób, homar, włoszczyzna

Chcesz sprzedać/kupić od/wymienić figurki z bartomeuszem, to weź pod uwagę, że jest osobą, która wycofuje się z własnych ustaleń i w efekcie z handlu nici.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group