Ogniem i Mieczem - By Fire and Sword

Historyczna Gra Strategiczna - Historical Wargame
It is currently Mon Aug 02, 2021 4:07 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: The Invincibles Division (w/ Black Coats)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:08 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:47 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
I want to build the "The Invincibles" division, with the addition of the Black Coats (4 bases, counting as 2 units).

The rule in the Warsaw supplement, to be able to field the Black Coats, says the following:
Quote:
You may deploy the "Black Coats" in (...) the Invincibles - "cavalry division" as an additional unit (...). In order to that you must have all possible regiments and - in addition - Carl X Gustav horse lifeguard regiment 1665-1660 must be on of them. (...)


What does "all possible regiments" mean? Is it only the 6 mandatory/basic regiments, plus the Carl X Gustav horse lifeguard regiment, or does this also include ALL additional regiments?

LIST A
Carl X Gustav (general)
Base regiments: 4 reiter regiments, 1 dragoon regiment, 1 new type regiment
Additional regiments: Carl X Gustav horse lifeguard regiment
3 light cannons
Black Coats

LIST B
Carl X Gustav (general)
Base regiments: 6 reiter regiments
Additional regiments: 2 reiter regiments, 1 dragoon regiment, 1 new type regiment, Carl X Gustav horse lifeguard regiment
3 light cannons
Black Coats

iconSWE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Invincibles Division (w/ Black Coats)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:06 pm 
Offline
Porucznik/Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3136
Basic+additional.

It means, You have to set up 8 regiments and one of them might be Guards regiment.
It is obviouse that Guards regiment must be part of something bigger then "pocket"(small) division. :D

_________________
Zaliczone Turnieje:
Lublin-24; Warszawa-12; Kraków-4; Chorzów-3; Pola Chwały-6; Wilanów-6; Kielce - 2, Dąbrowa Górnicza -2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Invincibles Division (w/ Black Coats)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:17 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:47 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
So, list C. iconSWE :D

General: Carl X Gustav
Base regiment 1: Veteran Reiters
Base regiment 2: Veteran Reiters
Base regiment 3: Dragoons
Base regiment 4: New Type Infantry
Base regiment 5: Veteran Reiters
Base regiment 6: Veteran Reiters
Add. regiment 1: Carl X Gustav Horse Lifeguard
Add. regiment 2: Veteran Reiters
Artillery: Major, 3 light cannons
Add. unit: Black Coats (4 bases)

All regiments maxed out within the rules (no grey bases for the veteran reiters).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Invincibles Division (w/ Black Coats)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:53 pm 
Offline
Porucznik/Lieutenant
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3136
I also recommend ammo wagon and 2 mercanery armored weterans companies with arcebuses (walonen/westfalen?).

_________________
Zaliczone Turnieje:
Lublin-24; Warszawa-12; Kraków-4; Chorzów-3; Pola Chwały-6; Wilanów-6; Kielce - 2, Dąbrowa Górnicza -2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Invincibles Division (w/ Black Coats)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:08 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:47 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Didn't mention the ammunition wagon here, but it is on the list for sure. 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Invincibles Division (w/ Black Coats)
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:46 pm 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:47 pm
Posts: 451
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Well... I know there are no necromancers in BF&S... but I will pretend to be one by reviving my old topic. ]:(

So; I am finally building everything (not talking about painting just yet X| ) and working on the Swedish Invincibles list to get Carl X Gustav in the game as mentioned.

I have a question about a rule mentioned in the "Mercenary Reiter Regiment - veterans (1648-60)" on page 150 of the "Republic In Flames" PDF.
The rule in question is:
Quote:
You may equip up to half of your Reiters with arquebuses. If you do not have any companies with arquebuses, you may exchange one FSP:5 level company with a 2-base company.


Does it mean I can take half of the companies as companies of reiters with arquebuses, or does it mean I can take half of the bases?

It is important to get it right, for the following:
The Invincibles can only take the black bases (although they can take additional officers). I take 3 commanders, then I take 4 bases of armoured reiters. This leaves me with other 5 bases.
IF the rule is about companies, I can take 1 2-base and 2 1-base companies for my armoured reiters (3 companies), leaving 2 2-base and 1-1 base companies for arquebuses (3 companies). Although it is only 20cm of danger, I like that better than having to do a suicide charge, just to get my reiters to do something.
IF the rule is about bases, I can only take 4 bases of arquebuses and combining these with 4 bases of armoured reiters I am left with 1 1-base company that can't join any other companies, but has to, forcing me into taking 3 bases of arquebuses and 2 bases of "standard" reiters - which pretty much means, leaving the arquebuses to get an additional base and then do a suicide charge as fast as possible. 8-|


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Invincibles Division (w/ Black Coats)
PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:28 am 
Offline
Ciura obozowy/Camp follower
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:08 pm
Posts: 605
Hard to tell what was the Wargamer's idea. Usually, they specifically write either bases or squadrons. Mathematically speaking, it seems to me that it should be interpreted as "bases".

_________________
Blog: http://zgielk.blogspot.com/search/label/robson


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group